Skip to content

The New Burnside Book Is Now Available!

Tampa Two, the 8th book in the Burnside Mystery series has been published!


Burnside is back!

It has been over a year since the last Burnside book, Double Pass, was published — but it has been worth the wait!

Tampa Two marks the return of Judy Atkin, the teenage runaway who P.I. Burnside arrested a decade earlier for prostitution. He made an enormous mistake by trying to help her back then, and wound up losing his job as an LAPD officer, along with his honor and reputation. Judy was the catalyst that led him down the path of becoming a Private Investigator, and all the good and bad that came with it.

But Judy is back in L.A. again, and is desperate for Burnside’s help. Her life is in danger, and she tries to persuade Burnside to accompany her into a dangerous situation. While Burnside isn’t fooled this time, she still manages to rope him in to her crazy life, and he quickly finds himself to be a person of interest in a grizzly Santa Monica homicide.

Tampa Two continues to showcase Burnside at his wise-cracking best, exchanging quips with an assortment of fascinating  characters, no matter what side of the law they are on. This well-crafted novel is the embodiment of the classic Southern California noir mystery, set against a Los Angeles backdrop, a city that many think they know, but few really do. This tightly written story leads readers down a trail of  theft, murder and deceit, with sharply honed banter and strikingly original characters.

To purchase Tampa Two on Amazon, please click on this link:





The 8th Burnside Mystery is almost here!

The new Burnside novel is coming in a few weeks! A girl from Burnside’s past returns to him, and her arrival triggers some unexpected and dangerous events….


David Chill’s new novel, CURSE OF THE AFFLICTED, has been published and is now available for purchase. This is a standalone book, and is not part of the Burnside Series.

The novel begins as political pollster Ned Baker has just landed the biggest candidate in the Presidential campaign. Everything is going his way — except for this nagging pain in his back. But when Ned learns the reason behind his back pain, the devastation of a stunning cancer diagnosis, his entire world is rocked. And as if things could not get any worse, he becomes embroiled in an assassination plot that threatens to destroy his freedom, his livelihood, and his family.

The journey plunges Ned into a dark and uncertain future, one where he must navigate past corrupt federal agents, as well as medical experts who disagree on how to treat his illness. Ned’s courageous battle to prove his innocence and overcome his disease represents a triumph of the human spirit. CURSE OF THE AFFLICTED weaves political intrigue and medical drama together into a compelling story of life, death and redemption. It is the story of an ordinary man thrown into an extraordinary situation. 

Please use the following link  to access the new novel:


What A Great Review!

I have a really big fan somewhere!



Good News! The Burnside Mystery Series Is Now Available on Apple iBooks, Google Play, Barnes & Noble Nook and Kobo!


The Burnside books are now available on Apple iBooks, Barnes & Noble Nook, Google Play and Kobo! The eBook price is still an extremely reasonable $4.99 (and a bargain at that!). Note that these books are also available in paperback for $12.99, so be sure and click the proper version.

The following links will take you to my author page for each platform. If you have an iPad or a Nook, it is extremely easy to download, but even if you don’t have one of those lovely devices, you can use their iBook or Nook app to read it on any PC, tablet or smartphone. Would personally advise against smartphone reading of novels.

Apple iBooks:

Barnes & Noble Nook:;jsessionid=599BA59C4AB8888E9511B50FA38ACC6E.prodny_store01-atgap09?Ntk=P_key_Contributor_List&Ns=P_Sales_Rank&Ntx=mode+matchall

Google Play:


For those of you who prefer to use Amazon Kindle, fear not, all of my books are still on Amazon, and will most likely remain there until the end of time. Perhaps even beyond that. The first six books in the Burnside series are still available in paperback. The Amazon author page is as follows:

Amazon Kindle:

As a final reminder, while all of the Burnside novels can be read on a standalone basis, I know that some of you prefer to read a series in order. So for your reference, here it is:


For those who have finished reading DOUBLE PASS, the 7th book in the Burnside series, you know I left you with a mild cliffhanger. I also left myself with a nasty headache as to how I was going to write my way out of that corner. But rest assured, the ideas are starting to percolate, and various murders and suspects (both new and old!) are emerging. I have begun plotting the outline for the 8th Burnside novel, and am having fun with it. I’m shooting (ha ha) for a summer release.

And finally, I am putting the finishing touches on a new book. It’s not a Burnside book, but it is very good, and I am quite proud of how it’s progressing. I was originally planning to have it published in March 2017, but I am getting some interest from a literary agent, so I’m going to wait and see what happens .

Thank you for your support!



Meet The Thriller Author: DAVID CHILL


Last week, I was interviewed by Alan Peterson, who hosts the MEET THE THRILLER AUTHOR podcast series. It is a 30-minute interview and we get into some background detail of the Burnside series. This includes some insight into my writing habits, writing style, the role of Los Angeles in the books, and how the Burnside series evolved. Here is the podcast link, if you’d like to listen to it:

Also, I wanted to provide an update on my next novel. I have decided to take a short break from Burnside, and write a political suspense novel. It centers around an assassination attempt set in Los Angeles (where else?) and it is coming along nicely. But this one will be a good bit longer than the standard Burnside novel. I am hoping to have it finished by February.

But fear not, Burnside will be back in 2017. For those who have read Book # 7, DOUBLE PASS, you know I left a little something hanging there at the end. So Book # 8 will be a requirement!

DOUBLE PASS: The 7th Burnside novel is now available!

Double Pass Cover Art 1a

I am very pleased to announce that my 7th Burnside novel has just been published and is now available on Amazon. As you surely know, this is the latest installment in the hard-boiled mystery series featuring Private Investigator Burnside, the wise-cracking former USC football player and LAPD officer.

The new novel is called DOUBLE PASS, and the story begins when an eccentric client asks Burnside to look into missing funds at his son’s high school. Without a clear road map, and with deadly obstacles strewn in his path, Burnside navigates yet another confounding path.

And as usual, a few more characters from Burnside’s past history materialize. Just when he thinks he has moved on, he discovers his past has never really left him, no matter how much he tries to avoid it.

Much of DOUBLE PASS is set in Pasadena, a suburb just north of Los Angeles, but a world unto itself. And like Santa Monica, this enclave has some of the best and worst that Southern California has to offer.

Please click on the link below to purchase: